Zimbabwe Under-21s thrash Kenya in warm-up match


Kenya Women – 41 all out in 12.5 overs (Mary Bele 13, Margaret Banja 13; Rumbidzai Nhire 5/5, Esther Mbofana 2/3)

Zimbabwe Under-21 Women – 42 for 1 in 8 overs (Precious Marange 22, Loreen Tshuma 11*; Sarah Bhakita 1/6)


Zimbabwe won by nine wickets.


Rumbidzai Nhire today produced a five-star performance as she claimed a five-wicket haul to help the Zimbabwe Under-21 women’s side rout Kenya by nine wickets in a warm-up match played at Takashinga Sports Club ahead of the 2016 ICC Africa Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament starting in Harare this Saturday.


After they were put in to bat first, Kenya collapsed in spectacular fashion, going all out for 41 in eight overs.


Just four of their batters made runs, with Mary Bele and Margaret Banja top-scoring with 13 runs each, while Venesa Adhiambo and Sharon Juma managed two and one respectively.


Nhire was responsible for much of the carnage, taking five wickets for five runs in 2.5 overs.


Esther Mbofana was impressive too as she grabbed two wickets for three runs in three overs.


The rest of the Kenya batters were run out.


The Zimbabwe Under-21s had little trouble reaching the target, with Precious Marange leading the chase with 22 runs before she was trapped leg before wicket by Sarah Bhakita.


Kenya failed to claim any other wicket as Loreen Tshuma and Mary-Anne Musonda took the home side over the line both unbeaten on 11 and six respectively.


The Under-21 side featured some of the players included in the final 14-member senior squad that will represent Zimbabwe in the 2016 ICC Africa Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament.


Apart from Zimbabwe and Kenya, the other participants in the four-team event are Tanzania and Uganda.


The qualifier tournament will be contested on a round-robin basis with matches scheduled for The Country Club and Alexandra Sports Club in Harare.


The team that finishes with the most points will win the regional event and proceed to the global qualification tournament for the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in the West Indies.


Chipo Mugeri Captain
Precious Marange Vice-Captain
Pellagia Mujaji
Mary-Anne Musonda
Josephine Nkomo
Loreen Tshuma
Modester Mupachikwa Wicketkeeper
Nonhlanhla Nyathi
Esther Mbofana
Sharne Mayers Wicketkeeper
Tasmeen Granger
Nomatter Mutasa
Ashley Ndiraya
Nomvelo Sibanda
back to top