NPL gets underway with 14 teams vying for coveted silverware

The third edition of the National Premier League (NPL) is set to get underway this weekend, with 14 teams vying for honours in Zimbabwe’s top-flight club competition.

Defending champions Gladiators will begin the defence of their title on Saturday when they take on Rainbow at Old Hararians Sports Club, while last season’s runners-up Westside will face Amakhosi at Masvingo Sports Club.

Five matches are scheduled for Sunday, with Queens Sports Club at home to Mbizo Cricket Club, Uprising taking on Bulawayo Athletic Club at Kwekwe Sports Club, Mutare Sports Club entertaining Kadoma Cricket Club at Old Hararians and Scorpions hosting Golden Bulls at Masvingo Sports Club.

The Takashinga derby between Patriots 1 and Patriots 2 at their home ground in Highfield will complete the matchday-one action.

The next round of matches is scheduled for 9 and 10 August at venues across the country.

This time round the NPL is a grand affair featuring 14 teams following a decision by Zimbabwe Cricket to add four more sides in order to open up the top-flight club cricket competition to men’s teams from all the 10 provinces in the country.

The expansion saw nine teams qualify directly on sporting merit through their top provincial club championships, while the other five spots were filled up via playoffs.

Harare Metropolitan had Gladiators, Uprising, Takashinga Patriots 1 and Rainbow securing their places in the NPL directly, while Bulawayo Metropolitan’s guaranteed berths were taken up by Amakhosi and Queens Sports Club.

Manicaland, Masvingo and Midlands each had one spot, with Westside, Scorpions and Mbizo earning direct qualification from those provinces respectively.

Takashinga Patriots 2 (Harare Metropolitan), Mutare Sports Club (Manicaland), Bulawayo Athletic Club (Bulawayo Metropolitan), Golden Bulls (Matabeleland South) and Kadoma Cricket Club (Mashonaland West) made it via the playoffs.







5 August 2023

Gladiators v Rainbow

Old Hararians

Westside v Amakhosi

Masvingo Sports Club


6 August 2023

Queens v Mbizo

Queens Sports Club

Uprising v BAC

Kwekwe Sports Club

Mutare v Kadoma

Old Hararians

Scorpions v Golden Bulls

Masvingo Sports Club

Takashinga 1 v Takashinga 2

Takashinga Cricket Club