Pace duo ruled out as Zimbabwe name T20I squad to face Bangladesh

Zimbabwe have retained their ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier squad for the three-match Twenty20 international (T20I) series against Bangladesh that gets underway in Harare this Saturday, although fast bowlers Tendai Chatara and Blessing Muzarabani will miss out through injury.


In the duo’s absence, Victor Nyauchi has been brought in to boost the pace attack options.


Chatara suffered a collarbone fracture while Muzarabani sustained a thigh muscle tear during the qualifying tournament held in Bulawayo earlier this month that Zimbabwe won to book their place at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 to be staged in Australia starting in October.


Their replacements during that eight-team contest, all-rounder Tony Munyonga and pace bowler Tanaka Chivanga, have also been retained in the squad that will take on Bangladesh.


Zimbabwe will take on Bangladesh in the first T20I match at Harare Sports Club on Saturday, before the two sides lock horns again 24 hours later.


The third game is scheduled for 2 August at the same venue.


Play is set to start at 1PM Harare time.

After the T20I series, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh will meet in three one-day international matches to complete the tour.



Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chivanga Tanaka, Ervine Craig (captain), Jongwe Luke, Kaia Innocent, Madhevere Wessly, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Masakadza Wellington, Munyonga Tony, Ngarava Richard, Nyauchi Victor, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Williams Sean








Saturday, 30 July 2022

1st T20I

Harare Sports Club

1:00 PM

Sunday, 31 July 2022

2nd T20I

Harare Sports Club

1:00 PM

Tuesday, 2 August 2022

3rd T20I

Harare Sports Club

1:00 PM

Friday, 5 August 2022

1st ODI

Harare Sports Club

9:15 AM

Sunday, 7 August 2022

2nd ODI

Harare Sports Club

9:15 AM

Wednesday, 10 August 2022

3rd ODI

Harare Sports Club

9:15 AM