Pathan, Evans star as Buffaloes, Qalandars set up Zim Afro T10 final

Durban Qalandars – 140-4 in 10 overs (Andre Fletcher 39, Asif Ali 32*, Nick Welch 24*; Noor Ahmad 2/9, Blessing Muzarabani 1/13, Victor Nyauchi 1/17)

Johannesburg Buffaloes – 142-4 in 9.5 overs (Yusuf Pathan 80*, Mohammad Hafeez 17, Will Smead 16; Tayyab Abbas 2/19, Daryn Dupavillon 1/17, Tendai Chatara 1/29)


Johannesburg Buffaloes won by six wickets


The Johannesburg Buffaloes stormed into the final of the inaugural edition of the Zim Afro T10 after an amazing innings by Yusuf Pathan of 80 not out off only 26 balls powered them to a six-wicket victory over the Durban Qalandars in the first Qualifier match at Harare Sports Club on Friday.


Put in to bat, the Qalandars played a brilliant innings of 140 for four wickets in their 10 overs, being sent off by André Fletcher with 39 off 14 balls.


This included 30 runs in an over (three sixes and three fours) off the unfortunate Wellington Masakadza.


Asif Ali (32 not out off 12 balls) and Nick Welch (24 not out off nine) took the final score to a massive 140.


Amid the carnage, Blessing Muzarabani took one wicket for only 13 runs in his two overs, while Noor Ahmed had two for nine.


The Buffaloes at the start of the sixth over looked doomed to defeat as their fourth wicket fell with only 57 runs on the board.


This was when Pathan took over, with his 80 not out coming off only 26 deliveries, while he hit eight sixes and five fours, finishing with two sixes and two fours off successive deliveries from Tendai Chatara in the final over.




Cape Town Samp Army – 145-3 in 10 overs (Rahmanullah Gurbaz 62, Sean Williams 28*, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 25; Nandre Burger 2/18, Mohammad Nabi 1/24)

Harare Hurricanes – 146-1 in 9.2 overs (Robin Uthappa 88*, Donovan Ferreira 35*, Evin Lewis 12; Richard Ngarava 1/21)


Harare Hurricanes won by nine wickets


Robin Uthappa, captain of the Harare Hurricanes, was the man who won the Eliminator match for his team with a brilliant innings of 88 not out off 36 balls while chasing a target of 146.


Rahmanullah Gurbaz carried his bat through the Cape Town Samp Army innings after they were put in, scoring 62 not out off 26 balls.


He did not get too much of the strike, but his partners Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Karim Janat and Sean Williams all made scores of between 22 and 28 off between 10 and 12 balls, to produce the excellent total of 145 for three wickets.


Nandre Burger was the best of the bowlers with two wickets for 18 in two overs.


Such an outstanding total was not good enough, though, as Uthappa and his opening partner Evin Lewis put on 55 runs in the first three overs before Lewis was out to Richard Ngarava.


Donovan Ferreira joined Uthappa and scored 35 not out off 16 balls to take his team to victory with four deliveries in hand.




Harare Hurricanes – 82-8 in 10 overs (Samit Patel 39*, Robin Uthappa 17, Donovan Ferreira 8; Brad Evans 4/16, Daryn Dupavillon 2/18, Tayyab Abbas 1/13)

Durban Qalandars – 84-6 in 8.4 overs (Hazratullah Zazai 25, Asif Ali 18, Nick Welch 18; Nandre Burger 2/13, Luke Jongwe 2/25, Tinotenda Maposa 1/7)


Durban Qalandars won by four wickets


Fine bowling by Brad Evans, who took four wickets for 16 runs in his two overs, was the main factor in the Durban Qalandars’ victory over the Harare Hurricanes in the second Qualifier match, to set up a final against the Johannesburg Buffaloes this Saturday.


With the Hurricanes put in to bat, the dangerous Robin Uthappa scored 17 out of 25 runs in the first two overs.


Evans came on to bowl the third over, and with his first delivery had Uthappa caught at the wicket.


His third ball bowled out Regis Chakabva before Mohammad Nabi hit a four and was then bowled by Evans’ final delivery.


At 29 for four the Hurricanes innings was so badly damaged that it never recovered, despite 39 not out from Samit Patel at number seven.


Evans was given the final over and he took his fourth wicket by bowling out Luke Jongwe with the very last delivery, ending the Hurricanes innings at 82 for eight.


When the Qalandars batted they lost wickets steadily, but not quickly enough to turn the match.


Hazratullah Zazai opened the batting and made their top score of 25 off 16 balls while Nick Welch and Asif Ali scored 18 apiece.


Azmatullah Omarzai with 10 not out finished the match with eight balls in hand for a four-wicket victory.