Zimbabwe A, Pakistan A lock horns as Kwekwe hosts first four-dayer

The first four-day match between Zimbabwe A and Pakistan A is set to get underway this Wednesday in Kwekwe.


The hosts have gone with a young side that includes seven players who were part of the Zimbabwe squad for the Test series against the West Indies in February – Brandon Mavuta, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba, Tanaka Chivanga, Brad Evans, Tanu Makoni and Joylord Gumbie.


The tourists, popularly known as the Pakistan Shaheens, have on the other hand travelled with seven players, among them captain Imran Butt, who have already represented their country in international cricket.


Speaking on the eve of the first four-dayer, Zimbabwe A Coach Stuart Matsikenyeri said he was expecting his charges to produce some strong performances.


“As always, we are quite excited when we get opportunities to play strong sides such as this and Pakistan have always been good to us in the sense that they always bring us really good, strong A sides whenever they come around,” he said.


“If you look at our squad, it is very young, so what we are looking forward to is for our guys to stand up against such quality and produce some really strong performances.


“We have generally in the past year or so been trying our level best to develop a winning culture, so that doesn’t change for these youngsters playing against a strong side.


“Like I said earlier, yes, a young side, but we have got quite a few who have been in and around international cricket.


“They are still at the development stage in international cricket so all of these lessons that they will get from these sides are ever so important and the boys are really looking forward to it as are we as the coaching staff.”


The second four-day match between the sides is scheduled for 10-13 May in Mutare.


Action will then move to Harare for the six-match 50-over series pitting a Zimbabwe Select team against the Shaheens, with the first encounter pencilled in for Takashinga Cricket Club on 17 May.


The rest of the one-dayers will be played at Harare Sports Club on 19, 21, 23, 25 and 27 May.



Akram Faraz, Campbell Johnathan, Chivanga Tanaka, Evans Brad, Gumbie Joylord, Jongwe Luke, Kaia Roy, Madhevere Wessly, Makoni Tanunurwa, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Mavuta Brandon, Mayavo Nyasha, Munyonga Tony, Myers Dion, Nyauchi Victor, Shumba Milton








3-6 May 2023

1st Four-Dayer

Kwekwe Sports Club


10-13 May 2023

2nd Four-Dayer

Mutare Sports Club


17 May 2023

1st One-Dayer

Takashinga Cricket Club


19 May 2023

2nd One-Dayer

Harare Sports Club


21 May 2023

3rd One-Dayer

Harare Sports Club


23 May 2023

4th One-Dayer

Harare Sports Club


25 May 2023

5th One-Dayer

Harare Sports Club


27 May 2023

6th One-Dayer

Harare Sports Club